Third DUI Offense

A third DUI offense in Virginia is an extremely serious offense and requires an attorney with the knowledge and experience to handle such cases. Because the stakes are so high, it is vital to seek out an attorney with the experience handling these particular cases. This is not the time to cut corners or find budget representation; this is potentially a felony charge that requires the best representation possible.

A third DUI conviction could result in a conviction of a Class 6 Felony, which will severely impact your freedoms. Not only will you face a lengthy jail term, you will also face restrictions on where you can work and restrictions on owning a firearm. The loss of these rights and freedoms will negatively impact the rest of your life. Because of this, you need an attorney who knows what to expect from these proceedings and who will fight to preserve your freedoms.

The attorneys at the Law Office of Patrick N. Anderson and Associates has experience handing felony DUI cases and knows how to give you the best outcome possible. They will work to create reasonable doubt in the jury’s mind and work to keep you out of jail. They will exhaust every angle in order to find the secure the best outcome for your case. Now is not the time to simply plead guilty and throw you on the mercy of the court. Now is the time to fight aggressively to keep you out of jail. These attorneys will do just that.

If you are facing a third DUI or DWI conviction in Virginia within five years, the stakes are noticeably higher. Not only will you face a fine from $1000 to $2500, you may receive a sentence of up to 12 months in jail or one to five years in prison. Regardless, you will have a mandatory minimum sentence of six months and receive an indefinite license suspension. You will not be allowed to petition for a restricted license for at least three years and you will not get a full license back unless you get an ignition interlock system installed in your vehicle. And even then, you the judge may not reinstate your driver’s license, leaving you without a vehicle and leaving you unable to get around.

The main difference, if you commit a third offense in 10 years versus five years, is that the mandatory minimum time in jail or prison is 90 days versus six months. As of July 1, 2013, if you are convicted of a fourth or subsequent offense you will receive a mandatory minimum sentence of one year with a possible sentence of up to five years. Regardless, if you are facing charges on a third or subsequent DUI or DWI, you must take them seriously. They can cause irreversible damage in your life, your career and your future. The attorneys at The Law Office of Patrick N. Anderson and Associates understand how serious these charges are and will work to secure your career and your future.

Whether you received these DUIs in Virginia or in another state does not matter: any conviction anywhere in the United States will be treated as a prior conviction in Virginia. Therefore if you have multiple offenses, even if they were in another state, you need to contact us today. You need an experienced, aggressive DUI defense attorney who is fighting on your behalf to protect your rights.

Contact a DUI Attorney for Third Offense Charges Today

Call for a Free Legal Consultation