Second DUI Offense

For those with one prior conviction for DUI who are now facing a second charge, it is extremely important to contact a DUI attorney right away. Because the penalties and fines are enhanced after a prior conviction, it is important to get these charges reduced or thrown out if at all possible. Some of the increased penalties you will face as a repeat offender include:

  • Increased fines
  • Longer mandatory jail sentences
  • Longer maximum jail sentences
  • Longer license suspension

The Law Offices of Patrick N. Anderson and Associates has experience handling cases of multiple DUI offenses. We will fight aggressively to preserve your freedom and prevent you from paying these punitive fines. We will hold the state to the highest standard of the law and ensure that your rights are upheld. If any improper procedures were followed or if any of the testing equipment was faulty, we will uncover it. Our team of experienced DUI attorneys and investigators will work tirelessly to find any problems with the commonwealth’s case.

A second DUI conviction can have a serious impact on your life. It can severely restrict any future job opportunities and tarnish your reputation in the community. Because Virginia and its citizens take this charge so seriously, people tend to look down on those with multiple DUI convictions. The attorneys at the Law Office of Patrick N. Anderson and Associates will listen to your case without judging and will work to give you the best outcome possible in these tough times.

Because Virginia takes driving under the influence so seriously, the commonwealth has some of the strictest penalties of any state for a second DUI offense. If you are convicted of a second DUI within five years, you may face fines ranging from $500 to $2,500 in addition to a 30 day minimum jail sentence. There is a 20 day mandatory minimum sentence, with the maximum sentence of one year in jail. You may also get your license suspended for three years. If your blood alcohol content is .15, you will face an additional 10 days mandatory minimum sentence. If your BAC is .20, you will receive an additional 20 days mandatory minimum. Your license can be suspended for three years and you may not get a restricted license for at least a year. You also must have an ignition interlock installed in your vehicle. If you receive a mandatory minimum sentence, that means you MUST serve all of the mandatory days and they cannot be reduced based on good behavior.

If you face a second DUI or DWI in 10 years, you face a fine between $500 and $2500, a 30 day minimum jail sentence, with at least 10 days a mandatory minimum term and a possible license suspension for up to a year. You also face an additional 10 days mandatory minimum if your BAC exceeds .15 and an additional 20 days mandatory minimum if it excess .20. You may be eligible for a restricted license, but only after at least a four-month suspension. If you receive a restricted license, you will be required to have the ignition interlock installed in your vehicle.

If you are facing DUI or DWI charges, it is imperative you retain the best possible attorneys to fight for your rights. Our attorneys will work to ensure that your receive the best representation possible for your DUI charges.

Contact us for a Free Legal Consultation